4. Andorra: Slowcook Chicken in Tomato Sauce

Posted on Updated on

Andorra, a tiny country in the north of Spain, it is often considered as a part of Spain, but they in fact they even have their own language (Catalan), which is quite different from Spanish. Spain is my nr. 1 favourite country in the world, probably because I had the time of my life when I was living in Sevilla! I don’t know a lot about Andorra, I drove through it few times when going to Spain by car with my parents. But here’s what I figured out by asking my Spanish friends and some distant memories from my geography class. Andorra is located in The Pyrenees between France and Spain. Until recently Andorra was not a wealthy country but ,the mountains that kept Andorra isolated are quickly becoming a big source of income for Andorra, hiking and skiing are becoming big business. Also Andorra is a tax haven which attracts a lot of expensive stores to settle down, but also cigarette smugglers who are trying to avoid paying taxes. Andorra is too small to have a real army, so by law each male head of the family is required by law to own a gun in case of emergency. Personally, I don’t think that would make me feel save, knowing that in every house you enter there is a gun present. Call me anxious, but I would not feel comfortable with that. Luckily the government provides free healthcare for everyone that has a job. (Okay so if you get shot they will at least help you in the hospital). Luckily Andorra does not have to protect itself in a bad situation, let’s hope Spain or France gives them a hand. Enough joking, let’s get cooking!  Here is some traditional music from Andorra for you to enjoy while preparing this recipe!

I changed the recipe a little, normally this recipe is made with rabbit, but since rabbit is not something you can buy at the butcher I would have to order it a few days ahead and I forgot (yes I know really stupid) but I changed rabbit into chicken which I think worked perfectly! It might not have been traditional, but it was delicious!

Ingredients: 2 chicken thighs, big splash of tarragon vinegar,  2 chopped cloves of garlic, 2 chopped onions, can of chopped tomatoes, 1 bay leaf, dried thyme to taste, tablespoon of dried oregano to taste, 1/2 glass of white wine, extra virgin olive oil, salt and black pepper to taste.

Chop the chicken into bitesizepieces and rub them with the vinegar. Put them in the fridge and let them marinate for about 15 minutes. Add olive oil to a casserole dish and fry the chicken until browned. Remove the meat from the pan. Now put the onion and garlic in the same casserole dish and fry them gently. Add the can of chopped tomatoes and the bay leaf, oregano and thyme. Pour in the white wine and bring to a boil. Then reduce the heat and and the chicken you fried earlier, season with salt and pepper. Cover with the lid and let it simmer for about 90 minutes. Serve with some rice of pasta.

PS. Do not even think about not letting it simmer, it makes a huge difference! Before I letting it simmer I tasted it and I I thought meehh this is okay I guess… But if you just have patience it will solve itself in time, and before you know it it will have transformed into a delicious rich and flavorful sauce! The flavor will be completely different trust me!

Please if you have any suggestions on how to make this recipe even better, or have an another recipe from Andorra you would like to share, a fun fact whatever! comment below :D

Next up something completely different is Angola! I can’t wait! :D

 

Leave a Reply

