Stick Homey Apple Toffee Pie

Posted on Updated on

This weekend I was feeling a little down, and to cheer myself up I baked a impressive apple pie! Apple pies always bring back sweet memories for me. When I was little we lived in a house in the woods, so we could were always building camps, and pretending we were witches in the wood. (I miss that house so much!) We had a few apple trees in the garden, my babysit or mom and I we always baked apple pies in the fall. And then the whole house smelled like pure happiness, because that is what apple pie smells like, happiness and warm cozy fires. But I decided to pimp up the apple pie recipe I had and give it my own twist to make it even better (I said better not healthier :P ). I found this really funny song about pies not apple pies but nonetheless I couldn’t resist to share it with you guys.

apple toffee pie

Ingredients crust: 170gr butter, 200gr brown sugar, 100 gram of white caster sugar, 1 egg, 250gr plain flour, 1tablespoon of cinnamon.

Ingredients filling: 4 sour apples (I used Granny Smith but you can us Bramleys aswell), 100 gr caster sugar, knob of butter, handful of dairy toffees (I used Werther’s Original), raisins (this is optional, you could let the well in brandy for a few hours)

Peel the apples, remove the core and dice them into small pieces. Dump the chopped apple into a saucepan with the suger butter and a splash of water. Heat to a bubble a let it cook for 5 minutes so the apple gets soft. Don’t forget to stir from time to time. When the apple has gone soft. Let it cool.
Beat the butter and white and brown sugar until it starts to go smooth, crack in the egg and beat again. Fold in the flour and the cinnamon. Divide the dough into 2 pieces, one a little bigger the other and let them cool in the fridge for about an hour.
Roll the dough on to a floured surface until it has about the thickness of little less then 1 cm. Lay on piece of the dough in pie dish, make sure the sides of the pie are steady. Lay in the chilled apple mixture (and optional raisins). Scatter the toffees over the pie, (I like it sticky so I put on a few extra). Lay the other rolled out piece of dough over the pie. Put into a preheated oven of 180C for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

