Mango Salsa

Posted on Updated on

What I love about this dish is hard to describe I guess it’s the combination since I’m not a big mango lover. I know really really odd but as a kid I couldn’t stand them. I was quite the fussy eater, I am forever grateful to my mum for forcing me to try everything, and making my eat those dreadful mango’s kiwi’s and drink glasses of fresh orange juice she pressed herself every single morning. Yes I did not make mornings easy for my parents, breakfast was always a struggle, since I didn’t like bread or fruit or milk. If it had been up to 4-year-old me I would have eaten dry cereal without yoghurt or milk (yoghurt or milk made my cereal soggy and I hated soggy cereal) or even better nothing at all! I even would have skipped lunch. Luckily I had a strong mom who refused to give in to my tantrums. So mom’s with fussy eaters as children, make them try everything, they will thank you one day! Dinner however was and is the happiest time of day for me, since my mom is an amazing cook! I ate everything I could get my hands to, from oysters to lobster to foie gras to brussels sprouts. But back to  the mango salsa, since a few years I love mango. I was looking for a refreshing, colorful salad and stumbled upon a great mango salsa and I found it. It’s quite spicy because of chili but you could always adapt the chili to your own taste. I like a little kick so I added an entire green chili! I served salsa with a nice piece of grilled salmon, but I bet it tastes epic on a taco! Mango Salsa This recipe makes enough for 4 people as a side dish Ingredients: 1 fresh mango cut into cubes (learn how to do this the easy way right here), 1 red bell pepper seeded and chopped small, 1 green chili deseeded and finely chopped, 1 red onion, 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro, juice of 1 lime, salt to taste Place all ingredients in a medium bowl and let stand at room temperature for 15-20 minutes in order for the flavors to marry. That’s it! No oil nothing else! Finito! DONE!

2 thoughts on “Mango Salsa

    Floris Mutsaerts said:
    April 14, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Hi Margot,

    Was supergezellig gisteren! Dank voor de gastvrijheid en de heerlijke borrelhappen. Kwamen ze allemaal van jou hand?

    Met vriendelijke groet / With kind regards,

    Floris Mutsaerts
    Clavis
    M +31 6 345 55 051

    T +31 73 744 00 07
    Hof van Zevenbergen 1A – 5211 HB – ‘s-Hertogenbosch
    Postbus (PO Box) 1661 – 5200 BS – ‘s-Hertogenbosch

    Bekijk onze vernieuwde website http://www.clavis.eu
    Structurering, beheer, administratie en coördinatie van familievermogens

    miran said:
    April 14, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    Weer heerlijk !!! Dank x

Leave a Reply

